Double take

 

“I bet that butterfly will come out today,” I said to my husband as I jostled the little jar that held our chrysalis. The dark form jerked around as the I bumped the jar on the windowsill.

I turned around to clear the table, giving directions to the boys. When I came back to the sink, “oh, a bug has gotten into the butterfly jar!  I’d better get it out,” I exclaimed, as I saw the black insect flapping around at the bottom. “Oh, the chrysalis is empty–it’s the butterfly!”

Just like that, transformation can happen. Turn your head away, turn back, and things have changed. Isn’t life like that?  What you think is predictable, maybe isn’t.

There is a lesson for us. One for you and another for me. Here’s mine for today:  Pay attention to little things that look ordinary. Take little snapshots in your mind. Life won’t always be like it is today. It might be better, but never the same.

Like the case of the caterpillar, change brought beauty and freedom. Let your change, however uncomfortable, bring joy and not bitterness.

Enjoy the journey.

 

Leave a Reply

